B-day conundrums

It’s been quite the week. Social to the max, which has not been super fun for me, recovered as I am from e.d.. There was so much food, lots of delicious foods that in the past would be strictly labeled as “bad,´´ and “unsafe,“ thus to be avoided and/or puked out once eaten. Much to my relief and sense of well-being, there was no puking this week though there was some regurgitation. Still, it was not perfect. But that’s ok. Even my babiest of steps matter to God! So here, some snapshots:

Tuesday night: Birthday, so loads of birthday food and we didn’t leave till after midnight. By 11, I was so sleepy and picking from the peanut dish nonstop more to stay awake than anything else. By 12, was throwing up bits of peanut and olive in my mouth, but determinedly swallowed it down. Next day, felt bloaty, tired and blah, but managed to eat well and even get a nap in. Points: 7/10.

Thursday night: house church. N and I had supper before going, not knowing it was someone’s b-day too,  thus, my favorite kind of cake was served, not to mention the sandwiches and chips and dips. N came to the rescue by eating most of my cake and I might have been eating the chips more for fun than anything else, but overall, it was fine. 8/10.

Saturday all day: Another birthday and this one was nothing but a food extravaganza. Steak, sides, two kinds of cake and cupcakes, and we were there from 3 to 7. N and I had a tiny fight over my steak (he thought it was too much, I was HUNGRY, darn it!) and then ruthlessly stared me down as I ate the frosting and filling in the cake and left the rest. I know I overindulged and I paid the price as the creamy mess tried to come back up, but I forced it down. Points: 6/10.

Sunday afternoon: ANOTHER BIRTHDAY! (wipes brow). Didn’t eat till 4 something (and that was supposed to be LUNCH) and it was at a seafood restaurant. Everyone was sampling off each other’s plates, sampling the appetizers, just sampling and eating away. I was determined not to be that annoying salad girl AGAIN (a topic for a whole other post!) so compromised with salmon and grilled vegetables. Of course, I was served like half a salmon, but managed to leave most of it to carry home. I was feeling awesome just for that haha, until the group decided to go for ice cream. N and I shared a dish but still it was a LOT of ice cream, and the rest of the people couldn’t even finish theirs, so again, we were all sampling from each other’s dishes and N and I, since we had started out with less, ended up picking at the ice cream our fellow diners were unable to finish (Sweet irony! Even man’s best efforts can be for naught, haha.) It was delicious and rich and creamy and I felt sicker and sicker with every bite I took but still, it was (almost) worth it. And afterward we went for a long walk and even as ice cream was coming up in my throat, I felt happy. As I told N, ¨This is what healthy eaters do…You eat some ice cream, you feel full and maybe even a little sick, but you don’t throw it up. And tomorrow, you don’t even want ice cream.’’ Points: 9/10.

So I am still happy…even as N is texting me now to tell me we have another birthday celebration at 9 tonight. What! Maybe March is a popular birthday month in Chile? So yep, I am going and I might be tired, I might be a little bored, I might be tempted to pick and even puke. But I won’t. My recovering life now is so rich and meaningful, even when it isn’t a birthday week. And I remain so grateful, grateful for the friends, family and even this wonderful food I get to eat. God is good.

Leave a comment